Requirements & Standards
The Department of Safety, Division of State Police, requires candidates to meet the basic standards below to be eligible for employment.
At least 21 years of age and a U.S. citizen either prior to or on the scheduled date of examination administration.
Police Officer Certification
Must be able to obtain police officer certification within the timeframe established by the New Hampshire Police Standards and Training Council. Must maintain police officer certification throughout tenure of service.
Must be willing to accept employment anywhere in the state. With offers of employment, candidates will be assigned a Troop area. Requests will be considered.
Must obtain a New Hampshire driver's license and registration within 60 days of establishing residency.
Education and Experience
A candidate with no experience must have an Associate degree or 60 credit hours from a recognized college; or a high school diploma, GED, or equivalent, with two years of law enforcement and/or military experience.