Total Compensation Package
New Hampshire State Troopers receive a competitive compensation and benefits package.
First-year Troopers receive a starting salary of $62,000 and are eligible for a $10,000 sign-on bonus, plus overtime and diverse duty pay.
In determining salary, prior service credit is available to individuals with full-time certified law enforcement experience at the local, county, state and/or federal level. When a Trooper I has achieved a combined total of 10 years of full-time certified law enforcement experience, he/she is eligible to apply for allocation to the Trooper II labor grade.
Approval does not incur a promotion, as one is only eligible to attain the rank of Trooper II (Trooper First Class) upon completion of 10 years of service with the New Hampshire State Police and other applicable criteria.